Not Alone…Ever

The following was written in 2020. Usually when I use one of these I change, edit, update before sharing. This one I am leaving as is. I did however add a paragraph at the end.

“I just finished watching the video of our church service. It really hit home. Not just because of the reminders of how God is our refuge and strength through what we are dealing with today, but a couple other things.

Many times you have read my posts of were the loneliness bears heavily on my spirit. Many times you have reminded me of what I knew. I am not alone, as a child of God, I am not, and I knew that. But when you stand in an empty house, or alone on a wooded path, you can feel very alone. You can feel forgotten, abandoned, almost useless and unneeded.

A part of the message given to Pastor Scott to share reminded me, of how I have not been alone, and will never be alone because as a child of God, the moment I became a child of God, He came to live within me, indwelling inside me, never leaving. Will be there with me until that last breath and I am called home, and He will be there to greet me when I stepped through that doorway into His Kingdom. I knew this, but sometimes when things get difficult, you need that reminder.

But it also, there toward the end, when he shared about the family who had lost a loved one to the virus, when he talked about no one being able to be there with them at the end, something that has haunted me from the beginning was brought back to the surface.

When my husband passed away, he was in that truck, so far away in Indiana, alone. He was found slumped over as if trying to tie his shoes, the truck idling, waiting for a run that would have brought him home. Instead, he was called home. And all this time, even though I have said the angels were there to guide him, he was alone. When my brother was called home, even though it was long before Covid-19 and you were allowed to visit, none of the family were there when he left us. That has haunted me. But now, my heart is lighter at the words shared, the message delivered, they were not alone. Our Lord was there, to take their hand, lift them from that damaged earthly vessel and walk them home.

In my heart now, instead of seeing them alone, I see them smiling, I see them healthy, I see them joyous as they see our Savior face to face and walk with the saints gone before.

Today, my heart is lighter, something I knew, something I have been reminded of often, suddenly has been given a new light and sealed in a very clear way in a once troubled heart.

Listen, please listen when you hear someone speaking, someone you know is speaking truth from God’s Word and not a misguided message. Because you never know, what message may be meant for you, to help, to heal, to draw you near as you may never have been drawn before.”

God sees us in our times of need. He reminds us that He is with us and cares for us. Our family has been dealing with some health issues my dad has. Someone yesterday called the county police and requested a well check on my dad. The officer who came out was perfect for the situation. He had dealt with similar in his family. He was professional yet kind. His first name, was Michael. My later brother’s name. Our Michael could not be with us, so God sent another in his place. Letting us know, He is here, He knows our needs. We are not alone.

About rebecca s revels

A writer, a photographer, a cancer survivor. An adventurer of the mild kind, a lover of the simple pleasures such as long walks and chocolate. A Christian unashamed of my faith and a friend who is dependable and will encourage readily. Author of three self published books with more waiting to find their way to paper. An advocate of good things, a fighter against wrongs.
This entry was posted in adventure, education, encouragement, faith, family, growth, inspiration, life's journey, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.