As An Adult

Nearly seventeen years ago, as an adult facing cancer, I had to figure out how to tell people. My husband was on a bus headed for a possible job that eventually fell through. My family was a one at a time, with gentle words action. My son a young adult handled it well. I purchased a pink ball cap that had an awareness ribbon to wear to work. I wrote about it at least once daily on blogs. For a while I was writing a weekly column in the local newspaper covering my experiences. All of this as a fifty year old, one with the words and means to share the information that I wished to be known. I shared what I could in ways to get the assistance that I might need, but also to attempt to somewhat pave the way for someone facing similar struggles coming after me.

 One thing I was asked was if I wanted to ask or did ask God, “Why me?” My response was “Why not me? I’m no better than anyone else”. Did I get angry? Was I afraid?

The thing is, I could share. I could vocalize. I could put the words in my head to print. I could express my thoughts and fears about what I was facing. I might not have known all the questions to ask, but could make my concerns known well enough to get the answers I needed.

As an adult.

But this, is not about me, or my battle. This is about someone much more important. Our Children. The young, the innocent, the vulnerable.

With children, especially the very young, its very different. With the very young, they simply accept what is being done. They have not reached an age where they can vocalize their emotions, fears, questions. They simply deal with all the treatments while their family seeks healing. They cry at the pain. They look to those around them in confusion. They deal because they know nothing else. Those who are older, whether a little or lot, with a better understanding of what is going on, have more ways to express their emotions. They are better able to ask questions seeking the answers they need to know. They are better able to help with the planning of treatments or who will be at their side. One thing about these children, there are times when some of them, when they have reached a level of understanding, who can put an adult to shame in the way they handle their battle. They can show a strength and maturity beyond their years. They can be strong not only for themselves, but others as well. Being the encouraging one for those around them.

As an adult, watching their child deal with something as serious as cancer, it is heartbreaking. Wishing beyond wishing, praying hard, ready and willing to do what ever is needed to help their child. As adults, feeling helpless in the battle. Angry, afraid, crying tears of frustration and hopelessness. Shouting and slamming doors at the seemingly unfairness of it being your child. Sometimes, there are needs that arise when they need help. That is where organizations such as Love Like Lauren come in. They see or are informed of the needs and they step up and step in to offer that help. They have been there, they understand. While there are moments when simply knowing that someone is there for you, having any financial help, any attention to the siblings of the warrior child makes a difference. Any seemingly small act, can make a big difference. Just as supporting these organizations in any small way can make a big difference. As an adult, I know we can do this.

https://www.facebook.com/lovelikelaurenfoundation

Love Like Lauren – Love Like Lauren

About rebecca s revels

A writer, a photographer, a cancer survivor. An adventurer of the mild kind, a lover of the simple pleasures such as long walks and chocolate. A Christian unashamed of my faith and a friend who is dependable and will encourage readily. Author of three self published books with more waiting to find their way to paper. An advocate of good things, a fighter against wrongs.
This entry was posted in adventure, children, education, encouragement, family, growth, healthy, inspiration, life's journey, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.