Day Sixty-two; Footnotes True Focus on What’s Important.

Blessings come wrapped in interrupted plans.

The plan was to take mom to the bank and the store, get back home and load up the dog and head for the mountain for another hike. I even got myself together earlier than usual. Dressed, breakfast, dogs inside and me ready to go. I drive next door and pick up mom and we head for the bank.

We timed it right going into the bank as mom could walk right up to the teller window. She cashed her check and got their monthly mad money. I am so impressed with the gentleman who waited on both of us. He is very patient, very polite and helpful. Once we were finished there, I walked with mom back to the car and made sure she was safely inside. When I got in the car, we headed for our local Sam’s club, first for gas and then to go into the building to look for a couple things mom wanted.

When I got to the gas pumps there was a line. Not too terribly long but still a wait. Once my Jeep is filled we pull around to find a parking spot. It was hilarious that I pulled into a spot then saw I was in front of a jeep bearing the Just Jeepin banner. Had to, I had to, I had to duck the jeep. My mother by this point was laughing at me as I searched for the perfect duck to add to the flock gracing the dash. Thankfully the parking spot was close enough to the building that mom didn’t have to walk far. We got to the area where the shopping carts were waiting. As I tried to pull one free, a gentleman stepped up to help. My mother then stumbled backwards but didn’t fall thanks to the other carts that helped balance her. It was a wasted trip as the store had nothing she wanted. So back to the car and over to our next stop.

We go into the store and start looking for what she was needing. Drinks, cookies for dad, cough drops and a few other items went into the buggy as we then headed to check out. We found a register where the customer was almost finished. As I went to unload the cart, well mom. Why am I always on the wrong side of the cart? Thankfully she again didn’t fall.

As we crossed the parking lot to where my car was parked the traffic that would have been passing, stopped and allowed us to cross. Mom and I both waved our thanks. I got her home safely and went home myself.

I made a phone call thinking I would be leaving a message but instead the person I was calling answered. They are dropping some medicare information in the mail for me. Once I get a chance to look over that we will schedule an appointment time so they can explain and assist in my making the necessary decision.  My birthday isn’t until August, but I didn’t want to put it off and risk getting in a hurry and risking making a mistake.

Then, mom called, wondering if I would fill her bird feeders.

Then when I got down there, dad needed me to move a chair for him.

Then dad called and needed me to move a wheel barrel for him.

Do not misunderstand. I know how very blessed I am that my parents are still with us. I understand that at their age they need help because there are things they simply need help with. I am blessed that I now am here to help. There will Lord willing, be other days to hike. I won’t risk missing any time I am gifted with my parents. I enjoy hiking the mountain, but I enjoy helping my mother more. Being here for her, trying to make sure she doesn’t stumble. Helping her across parking lots or the front yard, or up her back steps. The same with dad. My son is the same, I’ve watched him walk with them, making sure to be there for them.

Mom’s tulip tree

About rebecca s revels

A writer, a photographer, a cancer survivor. An adventurer of the mild kind, a lover of the simple pleasures such as long walks and chocolate. A Christian unashamed of my faith and a friend who is dependable and will encourage readily. Author of three self published books with more waiting to find their way to paper. An advocate of good things, a fighter against wrongs.
This entry was posted in education, encouragement, faith, family, inspiration, life's journey, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day Sixty-two; Footnotes True Focus on What’s Important.

  1. Higher Times says:

    Thank you. That was fun a fun story. Whenever I see a Jeep with people in it, I chuckle to myself, “Only in a Jeep,” from their old commercials. The flowers at the end were a nice surprise.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.