Oh the Offers

As I went through and cleaned out my email in box, I came across an email with all these special offers for a Myrtle Beach vacation. For those who have no idea, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina USA is one of the spots to go to for a vacation around here. From where I sit, its only a couple hours drive to get there.Much closer than the place I prefer which is the North Carolina Outer Banks. That is more like a seven hour drive.

 I did open the email and scroll down through the offers. There was everything from three day offers and longer. From motel rooms to condos. Some even though I would really need to go back through the listings, appear to have their own water parks. And the rooms, oh yeah, some of those rooms are amazing.I will admit though, that although the beach is nice, I prefer the mountains. All that sun, wind and waves at the beach on my pale skin is a nightmare in the making. A painful one at that.

 The mountains though are different. Get me up there with those scenic views, the mountain rivers and waterfalls and I’m happy. I love Cades Cove in Gatlenburg, TN. To go out there and hike out to the falls is a nice peaceful trip. To watch the wildlife wander by or watch from a safe distance is a thrill. Part of me wants to go see that new pedestrian bridge while the other part demands it be from a distance. 

I sit and dream about going to these places and then that little voice in the back of my head reminds me that I don’t even go to places around here.

I need to start here and branch out. I need to get comfortable going to local trails, finding the ones that are close to here, and then move out a bit further and then a bit further. Going to places that won’t cost me anything other than the cost of gas. Places where I can get back home the same day. But, there are a lot of those. And from what I’ve seen, some of those are really a nice adventure waiting to be had. 

The fact that I no longer have a job, is good and bad. I have plenty of time, no extra money. Thankfully my Jeep is super good on fuel mileage. I have reusable bottles for water and if its going to be a day thing, there’s nothing like a peanut butter sandwich and of course a treat for Bella. Find a rock for a seat and there you go. 

While getting away for vacation is a good thing, you’re away from home. You’re having fun. You’re doing things, seeing things you can’t do at home. Still, sometimes it is simply driving a few miles up the road and hiking a new trail. You’re out, you’re away, you’re seeing something new. you may even find a creek to wade in, hopefully when the weather is warmer. 

There is also the thing called a staycation. Fancy word for hanging out in the backyard. I was in a local store the other day and saw this tent/gazebo looking thing. It was huge and had mosquito netting. It was a gorgeous blue color and I was in love. I could envision it in my back yard and me enjoying a night out back without swatting mosquitoes. Hang some of the solar lights I have in that thing, my swing and table and I’d be all set. I could almost see myself sleeping out there.  It was also $200 plus tax so, that vision faded quickly.


My son does have that camper of his and that thing is really nice. He asked me the other day if I wanted to go to a race coming up in a few months. I didn’t answer but I kind of doubt it because he has other friends who he usually goes with. but he offered.

My thoughts were that when he goes to races, I can work more on that being a better braver me. And as that works out, and as I save my pennies, I can then take a more serious look when I get those Myrtle Beach offers.

About rebecca s revels

A writer, a photographer, a cancer survivor. An adventurer of the mild kind, a lover of the simple pleasures such as long walks and chocolate. A Christian unashamed of my faith and a friend who is dependable and will encourage readily. Author of three self published books with more waiting to find their way to paper. An advocate of good things, a fighter against wrongs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.